Accidents happen every day. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident or by someone else, you have legal options. A personal injury attorney can help you seek the compensation you need and deserve.
When to Hire a Personal Injury Attorney
It is wise to hire a personal injury attorney as soon as possible after an accident. While not every situation requires an attorney, it is beneficial to seek the help of an attorney if:
- You sustained severe injuries;
- There are multiple parties involved;
- It is unclear who is at fault; or
- The insurance company has offered an unfair settlement.
If you feel you are unable to handle your personal injury claim on your own, seek the help of a Ferry Pass personal injury lawyer right away.
When You Don’t Need a Personal Injury Attorney
No law requires you to hire a personal injury attorney to handle your case. Attorneys are extremely helpful and knowledgeable, but in certain circumstances, you may be able to manage your claim on your own. You might not need an attorney if:
- There were no injuries;
- The insurance company offers a fair settlement; or
- You are not seeking payment for your losses.
If you do not have extensive damages, you may be able to handle your claim directly with the insurance company.
Benefits of Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney
Having a Ferry Pass personal injury attorney handle your claim can be very beneficial. Your attorney will handle your claim from start to finish, giving you peace of mind. A personal injury attorney can:
- Fully investigate your claim,
- Collect relevant documentation,
- Determine liability,
- Calculate your damages, and
- Negotiate with the insurance company.
There are also many details and deadlines for personal injury claims, but you can feel confident knowing your attorney will get everything done on time. Personal injury claims can be stressful and frustrating, but having an attorney can alleviate some of these burdens.
How Does Fault Work in Florida?
Florida is a “no-fault” state. In no-fault states, each party turns first to their own insurance company to make claims, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. For this reason, Florida requires every driver to have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. If your injuries are serious or your bills exceed the PIP limits, then you may be able to sue the at-fault party for the remainder of your damages.
Florida is also a comparative negligence state. In comparative negligence states, the percentage of fault will affect the amount of recovery. For example, if a driver was 30% at fault for the accident and the damages are $100,000, the amount they can recover in a lawsuit will be reduced by 30%, leaving them with $70,000.
Why Choose Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon
Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon is a full-service law firm that has been helping injured clients for over 100 years. We believe every client has a unique situation that deserves time, attention, and outstanding legal representation. Our team provides kindness and compassion that fosters long-lasting relationships with clients. Every client receives our “Client Priority Promise” to ensure clients feel like they are our top priority. Your case is in the best hands with Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon.
Cases We Handle
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident or at the hands of someone else, you are likely to have a personal injury claim. Our team handles a variety of personal injury claims, including:
If you feel you have a personal injury claim, do not hesitate to contact us as soon as possible.
Get Your Accident and Injury Questions Answered
Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon is ready to help you. Contact us today to schedule your free, no obligation case evaluation to learn more about how our team can help you. We have operators standing by 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Read testimonials from our prior clients to see that Emmanuel Sheppard & Condon is the right firm for you!
What Kind of Damages Can I Seek in a Personal Injury Case?
After suffering injuries in an accident, you may seek various types of compensation, depending on the circumstances. Damages may include:
- Past and future medical expenses,
- Lost wages,
- Pain and suffering, and
- Loss of consortium.
Your Ferry Pass personal injury lawyer will evaluate your case and calculate your damages, helping to ensure the recovery you deserve.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit?
Every state has a statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits. If you wish to file a personal injury lawsuit in Florida, the statute of limitations is four years from the date of the accident. If you do not file your lawsuit within the four years, you are unlikely to recover for your injuries. This is one reason why it is imperative to contact a Ferry Pass personal injury attorney as soon as possible.
How Long Will It Take to Settle My Claim?
No two cases are alike, and there is no set time for settling personal injury claims. How long a case takes to settle heavily depends on the circumstances surrounding the claim. Some of the common factors that can affect your claim include:
- The severity of your injuries;
- The amount of treatment and recovery time you need;
- Disputes about who was at fault; and
- Settlement negotiations.
Your Ferry Pass personal injury attorney will work diligently to help move your case along to reach a swift, fair resolution.